Savor the moment

I  have been doing a lot lately when it comes to big life decisions. I keep telling myself once I do this or once I accomplish this I can start living my life the way I want to. When I was in school it was “once I finish high school I will be able to be an adult do what I want.” Then  when I entered college it was “once I finish college and move back home I will begin my life.” Then I got a boyfriend in the country of my university and suddenly I didn’t want to move back home, but I had to, I had loans to pay off and unfinished business to attend. So after that it became “once I’m done with this I will move back to and my boyfriend and I can start living.” I have been in the process of moving back now and I still find myself saying things like” when we get better paying jobs  we can travel”  I am always waiting for something more. Is that even healthy ? I realize in  waiting for the big things to come and to meet all the goals that I set for myself that happiness became a fleeting thing.

Though I love to have my goals and work towards them I really don’t want that to be all my life is made of. I have been telling myself lately that I need to savor the moment. To be honest the moment is all we have. I have so many plans but no one knows what can happen in a second. I strive everyday now to bask in the glory of right here and right now, to savor more,what I do have, instead of what I want. To just be for a while and enjoy it. via Daily Prompt: Savor

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

