Natural Hair Movement. Too curly to be part of the Kinky Trend

On the same train of thought as colourism. I’d like to address the issues that people have with my hair. I am of African and Indian decent. My hair curls in the natural hair world Id say I fall somewhere 3a/3b.  However the other day I saw a post on FB that really grinds my gears and i’m taking to this post to really bitch about it before I move square on with my life.19059563_1243711175750836_6814813999936631653_n

That shit is so annoying!! You know why this post annoyed me? Firstly because this is a pit black people against black people agenda again!! First my skin was too light and now my hair not kinky enough for you to embrace me into the natural hair movement….the movement away from relaxer(that I had from when I was 10 to 19) to embracing of the natural beauty  showing my heritage???? My hair curls yes  but it was still too poofy for my school, it was still too messy for formal functions and it was still hot combed like my 4c hair girls..tell me again I didn’t go through the struggle. My hair was relaxed because someone else thought it was too hard to comb it…tell me I don’t know the struggle..when hairdressers cut off lengths of it because they didn’t know how to get the knots out …tell me again  I don’t have hair struggles. Our struggles may be different  but its all the same principle and its all the same oppression we are trying to shed. We all trying to be free of the chains placed on us body and mind , we all dealing with the slavery that still affecting the way we think of ourselves. We all dealing with breaking free. Hold my hand don’t hold me down.

This you tuber said alot of how I feel check her out!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

